Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Arduino project communicating with CAN

Ste Cooper

So ive begun a project to attempt to interact with the CAN system on my Focus.

The Repo is here: https://github.com/ste2425/ArduinoCanBUSWIP

In the root of that repo is a spreadsheet with the messages iv'e gathered so far and what i think at this early stage their meaning is.

The code is written in C++ and runs on an Arduino. Take the code with a pinch of salt, I'm a web developer and used to very abstracted languages such as C# and JavaScript so this is quite a new experience! I never knew i would miss dynamically allocated Array sizes for example!

Iv'e made quite a bit of progress to say this is my first Arduino project and i have very little experience with C++. I can read messages, filter them out and believe ive located messages relating to indicators, locking / unlocking, brake peddle, clutch peddle, main beam, dipped beam etc.

I've noticed that when the bus comes alive, turn radio on, lock car through key, turn ignition on, it sends messages all the time. Each message indicating a current status at that point.
So every time message id 210 is emitted the first message body block will always have a value of 32 if the doors are locked. Only changing to 64 if the doors open. However i only expected a message to be sent on the action of locking or unlocking so that was unexpected. Also different message ID's appear to emit at different frequencies.

This is all interacting with the MSCAN at this stage.

I do however have a couple of questions and will probably have more as this project continues so i will update this thread.

First question.

Are can messages a cause or affect? I mean does the message trigger the action, or is the existence of the message indicating the action happened?