Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Fuel Filter Problem?

jrobinson

Hi,

I'm looking for some help/advise on an ongoing problem I have.  My Fiesta Zetec (2007) has been having issues with random stalls at junctions (This has pretty much stopped since and removed and cleaned the throttle body) and very slow acceleration going up to 70mph.  Also it idles erratically.  I've researched my symptoms and it appears the most likely cause is a fuel filter issue. 

Please can you tell me where the fuel filter is located and if it a difficult job to do myself.  I am by no means a mechanic but I've had some experience repairing/replacing parts.

Thanks in advance.

J.

I've heard elsewhere that it is just in front of the fuel tank which is towards the back on the passenger side.  Does this sound about right?

Thanks.

J.

11 hours ago, jrobinson said:

I've heard elsewhere that it is just in front of the fuel tank which is towards the back on the passenger side.  Does this sound about right?

Thanks.

J.

Yes, its there. Easy to reach by laying at the passenger side of the vehicle.
Pull the filter to unclip it and you press the quick release tabs in to release the pipes.
If you can raise the passenger side slightly it makes it much easier to see and get 2 hands at it. 

Being a pressurised fuel line you should remove fuse 15 and start the engine until it stalls to release the pressure.
625913070_QuickRelease.jpg.067e87908ea1b8e4c29126afd4a98297.jpg

• Like 1

22 hours ago, Dan62 said:

Yes, its there. Easy to reach by laying at the passenger side of the vehicle.
Pull the filter to unclip it and you press the quick release tabs in to release the pipes.
If you can raise the passenger side slightly it makes it much easier to see and get 2 hands at it. 

Being a pressurised fuel line you should remove fuse 15 and start the engine until it stalls to release the pressure.
625913070_QuickRelease.jpg.067e87908ea1b8e4c29126afd4a98297.jpg