Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Car Feels Sluggish/Hesitant On Acceleration

steveyeu22

Best way to describe it is as sluggish or a little hesitant although generally it doesn't seem like a big problem it is noticeable.

I am far from an expert in these matters - what would be the best means of troubleshooting this without spending a fortune?

This is the 1.4 TDCi engine for reference.

Research has led me to MAF and MAP sensors, EGR and possibly the Lambda sensor but I'm a bit stumped to be honest.

Trying to borrow an OBD reader to see if any codes have been stored.

Would running some fuel system or engine cleaners be of use before taking anything apart?

OBD scanning is the most effective place to start.  However, generic OBD readers can't pick up Ford specific codes.  It's still worth trying if you can borrow one, but if no codes are found, there may still be some Ford specific ones hidden.

Very difficult to guess parts for a fault like this.

Do you get any black exhaust smoke if you accelerate hard?  I'd start by looking for a boost leak if so.

@TomsFocus No smoke that I am aware of.

A little confused about what the TDCi has as there is a sensor near the front of the air cleaner on the end of the hose would this be the MAF and as Haynes suggests the MAP is on the rear of the air cleaner?

There is also a sensor with two pipes clamped to it that also looks that it could be a pressure sensor clipped under the air cleaner pipe which I understand to be the exhaust pressure sensor and won't be a likely cause of these issues?

One other question on this to help diagnose. Would any error codes be presented via the test menu on the dash if accessed as per the below?

12 hours ago, steveyeu22 said:

@TomsFocus No smoke that I am aware of.

A little confused about what the TDCi has as there is a sensor near the front of the air cleaner on the end of the hose would this be the MAF and as Haynes suggests the MAP is on the rear of the air cleaner?