Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Has Anyone Had The "important Software Updates" Letter From Ford?

mikester

see below:

letterfromford.jpg

My question is....

Is this a case of better the devil you know? for example i love how efficient my engine is now, it has problems especially in stop start traffic, moving at very slow speeds is difficult to control in terms of the clutch. I don't want to have this done and come away with a more well behaved clutch operation but a not as efficient engine and/or some other issue that could be associated into whatever new map is being uploaded.

As for the 29 point check, pah. I'd trust a child more so than the mugs at ford, no offence to the guys who actually take pride in their work but I've had some HORRIFIC experiences with Ford 'technicians', been left hundreds of pounds out of pocket but that's a whole other story which customer relations never reimbursed me for :(

should I go for it or leave it if I'm happy with the car as is?

On a side note I've re-done my grills with some special spray in an attempt to combat the chipping that is inherent whenever you spray your grills... it's a little experiment that I can't really comment on yet as I haven't put enough miles on since. Here's a taster:

b7873e7b.jpg

Let me know guys whoever uses the Heartlands group how you've found the software upgrade if you've had it on your 1.6 derv

Hi

I had one today from Brunel Ford in Bristol. Is this a marketing ploy to get your car into their garage or is it a genuine update from Ford. If it is from Ford then I should be able to choose my nearest Ford garage to do the update.

I've not had any letters regarding updates but I'll be booking in my first year/10,000 mile service in September so will ask if any updates and be applied then.

I take it its nothing exciting like enabling remote control of the windows, just 'under the bonnet' stuff?

P.s car looks good mikester