Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Ecosport vs Fiesta Active - which would be better for us?

GCarty80

I've my current Fiesta Zetec 1.4 TDCi for 8 years now -- it's a 3-door model as when I bought it my dad had a Motability car (due to my sister having autism and learning difficulties).

Unfortunately a brain haemorrhage cost him his licence in 2012 leaving me as the only driver in the family, and my current car isn't very practical when my sister comes out with us (even though she's only 4'10"!).  My annual service/MOT last month also revealed an axle problem that could require an expensive and time-consuming repair in the near future, so I'm looking to replace it with a new 5-door model.

I've been driving Fords for 17 years now with no major problems so I see no real reason to change manufacturers, but I'm torn on which model to go for: my mam likes the look of the EcoSport, but after reading so many bad reviews I'm wary of this model. Personally I'd rather stick with a Fiesta, although I'd have no issue in meeting her halfway by going for the Active model.

I do roughly 13,000 miles per year, the vast majority of which is my commute to work in Newcastle, although I also take my mam for shopping (with my sister sometimes coming with us for a look out) on Saturdays. Every 2 or 3 weeks are so we get a big shop that currently requires some bags go on the back seat (or on the floor behind my seat).

I'm also still not quite decided on whether to go for petrol or diesel although I see an increasing consensus that a mileage like mine is no longer quite enough to justify diesel – the new 1.0 Ecoboost petrol engine, road tax changes, and the prospect of Low Emission Zones and diesel tax hikes in the near future are all factors that have change in petrol's favour since 2010.

I'd be interested in what thoughts the regulars here have concerning my dilemma...

George