Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Aftermarket stereo...??

BennyLCFC

Hello im pretty new to cars but have purchased an '08 Focus tdci that im quite fond of, never been bothered about cars but this drives really nice and now im all about it.

My question to you all is about stereos, i have the FX Travelpilot built in which isnt a bad bit of kit but it is dated i feel and as such i have been researching aftermarket stereos. My budget isnt massive and so im trying to avoid the branded versions even though i know they will be much more reliable. Ive seen absolutley tons of non-branded/chinese HU's that look great and have great features specifically the features i really want (Satnav, bluetooth for playing songs from Apple music and preferably DAB at some point)

Now my facia isnt going to allow for any of these HU's that i want so i at least know i will need a new one of those with the square as opposed to the oval shaped hole for the unit, my worry is this wont be enough, i have read something about cages and installation kits and what not but this is where my head gets muddled as theres so many options but not sure what kind i need.

Has anybody else gone down this route and how difficult was it? Im a complete novice but im willing to try this myself as i was quoted an extortionate amount from a local company before ive even chosen a stereo.

Any help would be a massive help and any specific details would be great, this is my current stero belowIMG_2389.thumb.JPG.bd1e06a89049c1fa59e9a46d4013f11f.JPG

just some pics of what im dealing with, looks a bit scary back there for me but any info on all this will be great, ive done a lot of youtube/google searches and its like im going round iIMG_2395.thumb.JPG.5f1f2aa492382bf74591058acbdf76cd.JPGn circles sometimes

All you need is a fascia to convert the proprietary dash surround into a double din hole so you can put in any standard double din unit.