Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Ford Focus Titanium 2015 - Battery Issues

RyanP2023

Hi all,

Sorry if I’m posting any of this in the wrong place, I’m looking for some help from experts as I’m a complete novice when it comes to cars!!

My car battery died following some MOT issues. I’ve just replaced the car battery, however I have a few concerns:

battery - The battery itself is a different shape to the one that was in the car before (which was a Ford battery, so presumably the original). It starts the car fine, however the black plastic case above and metal bracket won’t go on now. There’s also room for the battery to slide back and forward which concerns me. 

Key Fob - Since the battery died, my key fob won’t work. I can start the car by putting the fob in the middle compartment but can’t use the fob to lock the car - I need to get the key out manually. 

2 Questions:

1. Is the battery I’m using safe or should I try and buy another car battery that physically fits the same as my old one? 
2. Do I need to pay for my key to be programmed or is there anything else I can use to do this myself?

Thank you, and sorry for any stupidness in advance!!

Extra room in the box isn't a problem as long as the battery itself is secure.  If the battery feels loose and can slide around then no, it's not safe and it would fail MOT.  The battery cover not fitting is a little annoying but not actually a problem. 

Is the battery correct with regards to spec?  EFB if you have start stop.  And similar Ah & CCA to the original?

Have you checked the battery in the keyfob?  Admittedly it would be an odd coincidence for that to fail at the same time as the car battery but not impossible.

8 hours ago, TomsFocus said:

Extra room in the box isn't a problem as long as the battery itself is secure.  If the battery feels loose and can slide around then no, it's not safe and it would fail MOT.  The battery cover not fitting is a little annoying but not actually a problem.