Do Not Sell My Personal Information

2.0 Tdci Losing Power. Loss Of Power

BIRCHINBOY

I have a 04 (2005 reg) 2.0 TDCI 130.

Whilst driving happily along the temerature gage will drop and become idle, at this point I lose all turbo/accerleration in the car and I have to turn the ignition off and back on again to gain back power, doing this seems to 'reset' the car until it happens again.

I don't get any black smoke from the exhaust but the engine light is constantly on.

I'm thinking about taking it to Ford to get hooked up to their computers but that's going to cost an arm & a leg!!

I'm not very technical when it comes to cars either, but any advice/guidance would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Lee

Scout around either for a cheap hand held diagnostic machine range from £40-£120 on eBay for a half decent one or find some local who offers diagnostics,they will read all engine, abs, airbags for most/all petrol cars from 2001 and diesels from 2004, ford (!Removed! turpin) will charge £85 plus vat to put it on there machine, i ended up paying for a sealey handheld cost me about £180 but times ive used it on my mondy, in laws focus, and my familys vauxhalls its paid for itself.... plus friend of friends you could charge £10-£20 extra beer money...lol

At a guess I would say your thermostat :unsure::unsure: I had this problem (although mines petrol) the temp gauge would reach normal then drop down,it ran crap untill I changed the thermostat and is now running lovely. The engine relies on the temp to run correctly and if the temp gauge is telling it differnt reading it will act accordingly.

you car is going into limp home mode because of a fault, get the codes read

• 2 weeks later...

ok. so now I have had the code read...

P1288 CYLINDER HEAD TEMP. SENSOR OUT OF SELFTEST RANGE

Any ideas anybody?

Thanks,

Lee

• 2 years later...

hi lee, ive got exactly the same problem. did you get it fixed and if you did what was the fault ?

thanks baz.