Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Ford Zetec 08 issues

Cojenss

Hi there, this is my first time posting on this forum so i hope i have opened this discussion in the correct place.

Recently purchased a Focus Zetec 08 and am having a number of issues with it.

1) After driving it for about two days the amber engine warning light came on. I have run a diagnostics tool but all it is giving me is an error code of P0171. I have inspected all the pipes and joints and can not find any broken or leaking parts. Took it to the garage last week and they ran a smoke test but no leaks were found. From doing some general research it appears that it could be an issue with the MAP or MAF sensors. I have managed to locate the MAP sensor but am struggling on how to access it to be able to inspect it and decided either to clean or replace the sensor. I have looked for the MAF sensor but have not had any luck finding it. 

Would anyone be able to guide me in how to remove these sensors so that i can clean or replace them. Don't really have the money to send it to the garage for endless tests.

I have the Torque app for android (full version) but am not sure how to use it correctly. I would be happy to send you a log of the data if you tell me what data you would like to see and how i can get it to show. 

2) Not sure if this is related to my first issue, but when we start the car from cold it chokes and dies out. If i then turn the engine off and on again and hold the key in the furthest position i will start and run as normal.

3) The clutch on the car is also very stiff, not sure what is causing this i have check the break/hydraulic fluid level and it appears to be ok. Any suggestions

Would really appreciate any help or suggestions 

Kind regards

David

On 20/07/2016 at 11:12 PM, Cojenss said:

error code of P0171.

The 1.6 VVT engine (variable valve timing) has a combined MAF/Temp. sensor.

The 1.6/1.4 standard engines have a combined MAP/Temp sensor.