Jump to content


Photo

Guide For Focus Mk2/mk2.5 C-Max/kuga ~Elm 327 Cable And Ff2 Program

translating

  • Please log in to reply
2203 replies to this topic

#61 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 15,830 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 22 March 2012 - 08:20 AM

Just in case someone is interested in doing the cruise control retrofit, i found this available - no idea if the first one is compatible with a standard Focus.

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item337395b3aa

This one is listed as having stereo controls but it is obvious by the photo that it's actually cruise control buttons.
http://www.ebay.co.u...=item27c476e217

And i believe the correct retrofit airbag cover.
http://www.ebay.co.u...=item1c241b2736

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#62 Pidu

Pidu

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 266 posts
  • Name: Peter
  • Ford Model: Focus Titanium 2.0 AT
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 22 March 2012 - 08:35 AM

Just in case someone is interested in doing the cruise control retrofit, i found this available - no idea if the first one is compatible with a standard Focus.

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item337395b3aa


C-max steering wheel is not compatibile with Focus. Possibly it could be fitted, but it would require C-max airbag as well (not sure if connection is the same) and the costs are raising high.

This one is listed as having stereo controls but it is obvious by the photo that it's actually cruise control buttons.
http://www.ebay.co.u...=item27c476e217

And i believe the correct retrofit airbag cover.
http://www.ebay.co.u...=item1c241b2736


Nice find.

I still can not get used to some parts prices in UK. Worth looking abroad.

#63 Richiemac

Richiemac

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Name: Richard
  • Ford Model: Focus 2014 1.6 tdci + S max 2011
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Ireland

Posted 22 March 2012 - 08:35 AM

Second wheel is the right one Stoney..........good find. Buy the wheel , put it on , activate...... and bingo ! Well, worked for me anyway :)

#64 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 10,115 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 22 March 2012 - 09:53 PM

Absolutly Fantastic!!
Im running Windows 7 Professional and ive purchased the ELM diagnostic connector from ebay along with a switch and got the ELM Modified, downloaded the Russian Inteligence and connected the ELM to my 1.6TDCi Focus Mk2.5
and within 15 minutes i have activated:

The washer Fluid warning (sensor Not fitted so i need to switch this off again)
The RDS Stereo display in centre gauge screen.
The Phone Display in centre gauge screen.
Auto door lock feature (when driving over 10kmh)
and
Real Time Fuel Consumption

very happy with this Guide and all of the information in it,
looking foward to seeing what the future software will contain, and i didnt think my centre display would be capable of the RDS display etc. because my screen is the small version but it works fine, and now where it normally displayed the mileage, i can cycle through the various displays such as temp, fuel consumption etc, while the centre area is reserved for the stereo display and the phone display (when ringing) and the time and temp outside is still displayed on the top of the screen at all times too.

im a very happy member of Foc :D
Thanks Pree and Pidu excellent work lads, this is a credit to you both B)

#65 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 10,115 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 22 March 2012 - 10:12 PM

got windows 7 laptop
downloaded first russian software and tried com1 with vin number and no joy

computer had a heart attack about something else and I couldn't view this guide properly, but i got the bit about modifying the ELM with the command window so i tried that and it did sort of work. During this process i realised that it was in com7.

i then tried the russian software again and got into it but get a funny error when i try to read the data.
the second russian software gives the error mentioned but i don't know where to put the dll files.

did i screw it up by modifying the elm when i didnt need to?


Hi mate,
i have a windows 7 system too and when i clicked to scan the ecu and it showed up what looked like an eroor but i clicked the box on it that i assumed
was saying ''Continue''
then it scanned the system for me and displayed the box's that were activated,
allowing me to click pther box's and then write it to the ECU.

hope this helps mate,

#66 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 10,115 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 22 March 2012 - 10:27 PM

I too activated the Shift Light feature then took her out on the motorway and hit the red line in 3rd but no light came on...
not even a blue one :rolleyes:

so im going to switch it off again tomorrow.

#67 irl-06lx

irl-06lx

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 124 posts
  • Name: Alex
  • Ford Model: LX
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Dublin
Contributor

Posted 22 March 2012 - 11:13 PM

cheers Lenny

i did the putty change to the elm as well so not sure if that can have a negative effect if its not needed?

also, how long did it take after you hit "continue" (or whatever it said!) for the box's to become ticked?

#68 Richiemac

Richiemac

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Name: Richard
  • Ford Model: Focus 2014 1.6 tdci + S max 2011
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Ireland

Posted 22 March 2012 - 11:31 PM

Couple of seconds and its done. You have to rescasn it to see the changes......

#69 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 10,115 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 22 March 2012 - 11:35 PM

cheers Lenny

i did the putty change to the elm as well so not sure if that can have a negative effect if its not needed?

also, how long did it take after you hit "continue" (or whatever it said!) for the box's to become ticked?


from the time i clicked update, i think it was defo less than 2minutes mate, but it may also depend on the laptop performance for it to transfer the info to the car.

i didnt do anything with the PuTTY because i dont know what it does but i activated all of the bits in my previous post by just re-wiring the ELM and using the russan software and refering to prees first post in this guide for reference to the ticked box's and ticking of further box's

#70 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,099 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 23 March 2012 - 04:28 PM

cheers Lenny

i did the putty change to the elm as well so not sure if that can have a negative effect if its not needed?

also, how long did it take after you hit "continue" (or whatever it said!) for the box's to become ticked?


The changes made to the ELM chip via PuTTy only adds commands to allow the ELM chip to read a different configuration , opens the required ports , the ELM chip stores these extra commands and has no effect on the normal use of the ELM in standard mode it's just extra commands.

Hitting "write" to send the ticked commands takes a blink of an eye , and you just have to Rescan as already stated.

Lenny , James_60 did you try Ford ECO MODE , it works great on mine , just a gimmick but it's there , mine says my gear changing sucks , but my speed is very good :)

#71 james_60

james_60

    Too much time on the boards

  • FOC Supporters
  • 977 posts
  • Name: Jamie
  • Ford Model: 2013 Focus Titanium X 1.6TDCI 115BHP
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Worcestershire

Posted 23 March 2012 - 08:42 PM

Yeah i have tried ecomode :-) it works great

I really want to start adding features to my car now but everyone says no no no lol

Jamie

#72 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 10,115 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 23 March 2012 - 09:18 PM

Yeah i have tried ecomode :-) it works great

I really want to start adding features to my car now but everyone says no no no lol

Jamie


i would like to activate the global opening and closing feature,
but i only have front electric windows, hopfully with the OBD and the software their may be a way of auto closing the windows when i lock the car,

also if the GEM software is in development, i hope the create some software to act as a turbo timer, this would keep the engine running after you have removed your key and locked your car, it would keep the engine running for up to 3minutes to cool down the turbo, depending on how fast you had been driving,

#73 MrGrumpy

MrGrumpy

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 159 posts
  • Name: Tom
  • Ford Model: MK II
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Sussex

Posted 25 March 2012 - 03:41 PM

I downloaded the programme but all i get is question marks instead of text..

can somone help, please :)

#74 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 10,115 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 25 March 2012 - 04:07 PM

I downloaded the programme but all i get is question marks instead of text..

can somone help, please :)


mine is the same mate,
The only way to be able to read the text is to change your computers language to Russian,which i dont recommend doing lol


but you don’t need to because pree has done all of the hard work for us,

to use the software just start it up and connect the ELM to your car,
then using pree's screen shots on the first page as reference

tick the box's that you want to activate in correspondence to the translations Pree has done on the screen shots.

Count the box’s from the top down, on prees screen shots,

Then go to your software and tick that box the same as prees guide so you know what your activating.


i have done mine this way and got 100% results. very happy

#75 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,099 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 25 March 2012 - 04:12 PM

I downloaded the programme but all i get is question marks instead of text..

can somone help, please :)


MrGrumpy , you need to change your system locale , as the English Unicode will be currently displayed , under control panel language and region you need to change so that it reads Unicode to russian so that it will see the Russian characters.

But fear not , on page one of my guide if you download and print the pictures , that will then guide you through what the various commands are so no need to change unicode to russian ,just count the tick box's :)

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



10 user(s) are reading this topic

1 members, 9 guests, 0 anonymous users