Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Is the Mk7 a quality car?

Mostapha

I've been reading this forum for a while now and it seems there's a lot of squeaking noises, rattles, software and sound problems. There's paint coming off, clutch sounds. My question is, is the Mk7 a high quality and reliable car? I've been driving a 2002 VW Polo for 7 years now and it's not been in the garage once. The biggest thing I did to it was change the battery after 6 years. I like this in a car, and I want my next car to be as trouble free. Is the Mk7 Fiesta the same, or should I expect it to be not as reliable as my current VW?

My car's delivery date is late January by the way, a 2010 1.4 auto. I absolutely love the way it looks and feels, but reading around here for the past few months got me a little worried, since I intend to keep this one for 5 years.

My car has been 100% perfect - no rattles, squeaks, software problems or sound problems.

I have a few tiny things I don't like - such as the fact that the iPod software isn't sophisticated enough to read chapter divisions in audio books and where exactly DO you put the iPod when using it so that it doesn't interfere with the handbrake, but they're not 'faults' with the car, more design flaws.

I don't think anyone is ever going to be able to tell you that Fords are as well built or as reliable as a VW, but I've owned three Fords (2 Ka and 1 Fiesta) from new and have never had a major fault with any of them.

I agree with Dans comments. Mine has been spot on so far, i've done 8,200 miles now and its still running perfectly.

As with anything, people post when they have a problem rather than posting to say everything just works.

I wouldn't worry too much, looking around at 5 year old fiestas now they dont seem to have any major issues. I'd expect you to have pretty much trouble free motoring unless you're really unlucky.