Jump to content


Photo

New Here, Need Some Input On Retrofittings


  • Please log in to reply
166 replies to this topic

#16 gingertom

gingertom

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Name: Dave
  • Ford Model: Fiesta ST2
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: West Midlands

Posted 01 March 2013 - 09:50 AM

It doesnt matter if the two are sold as one unit. The control panel bolts to the cd unit. I used my original cd unit as they are identical across models, just bolted the new control panel on.



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#17 neps

neps

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Name: Espen
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 02 March 2013 - 07:30 PM

I have bought some of the items on ebay today, the complete headunit/panel/multiline display things.

 

But offcourse, _after_ i completed the payment, i found out that ford changed the headunit connectors in 2010, my car is a 2009(july), and this came from a 2010 model, Could I be so lucky that I allready got the new style connectors? Is there a way to make an adaptor harness? Or should I try to get them to send me a unit from a 2009 model?



#18 thegame1512

thegame1512

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts
  • Name: B
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 02 March 2013 - 07:41 PM

If they are indeed for a 2010 model perhaps i could buy them from you? Or could you pm me the ebay site youmgot it from?

#19 iNath

iNath

    ST-2 Mod

  • Super Mod
  • 3,630 posts
  • Name: Nathan
  • Ford Model: Molten Orange Fiesta ST-2
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Buckinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 02 March 2013 - 07:42 PM

There is a guide here: http://www.fiestamk7....php?f=7&t=1479

 

Would be easier to get correct one though.



#20 neps

neps

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Name: Espen
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 02 March 2013 - 07:49 PM

If they are indeed for a 2010 model perhaps i could buy them from you? Or could you pm me the ebay site youmgot it from?

Sure you can, I dont think they will ship it before monday, so Im hoping I will be able to make them send me a 2009. If I have to receive the 2010 i would be happy to sell it to you. 

 

There is a guide here: http://www.fiestamk7....php?f=7&t=1479

 

Would be easier to get correct one though.

Nice, so both type of units got the same pins, its just a matter of pinlayout. will be do-able i think. At least a great backup-plan if I am unsuccessfull in getting the 2009 instead.



#21 thegame1512

thegame1512

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts
  • Name: B
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 02 March 2013 - 08:03 PM

How much did you pay for the units if I may ask? If you can't switch them out we can work something out. I won't buy them until you know.  Could you still email me the link to the shop, I need a lot different parts as well like the stalk and the mic and I can't find them on Ebay.  Perhaps your reseller has them in his assortment.



#22 neps

neps

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Name: Espen
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 02 March 2013 - 08:06 PM

They ebay seller is Hills Motors, link: http://www.ebay.co.u...=item3f1f561e64

 

Just do a search for "Fiesta mk7 stereo"

 

I have asked them about the mic, stalk and BT module also, but they haven`t answered yet.



#23 thegame1512

thegame1512

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts
  • Name: B
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 02 March 2013 - 08:12 PM

No need for me to ask them the same question then, please post the answer here when you get it.

 

 

Nice btw to have someone doing the same. If any of us run into trouble we can always ask eachother for help ;).



#24 neps

neps

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Name: Espen
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 02 March 2013 - 08:14 PM

Sure!

 

I just found out that a brother of a friend of mine is technical manager at the ford dealer here. Im looking into getting the recoding done by him, as the dealer wanted £100 just for trying, and they couldnt promise that it would work.



#25 thegame1512

thegame1512

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts
  • Name: B
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 02 March 2013 - 08:18 PM

Great! First i'm going to try my local dealer and otherwise I know a mechanic on an hours' drive who is willing and able :)



#26 AJ_sXe

AJ_sXe

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 580 posts
  • Name: AJ
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.0L EcoBoost Titanium
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 02 March 2013 - 09:31 PM

No need for me to ask them the same question then, please post the answer here when you get it.

 

 

Nice btw to have someone doing the same. If any of us run into trouble we can always ask eachother for help ;).



 I am also in the process of doing it, but after finding out my module is of an earlier type I'm not sure what loom to get now :-/



#27 thegame1512

thegame1512

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts
  • Name: B
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 02 March 2013 - 09:33 PM

Hell Bunny

 

 

Do you have information for me which loom to use on a post 2010 Fiesta? Do you have a part or FINIS number? I'm collecting all the numbers but i'm nowhere complete.

 

Perhaps i could buy the loom from you if you want to sell it and it is the right one for me.



#28 AJ_sXe

AJ_sXe

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 580 posts
  • Name: AJ
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.0L EcoBoost Titanium
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 02 March 2013 - 09:40 PM

Hell Bunny

 

 

Do you have information for me which loom to use on a post 2010 Fiesta? Do you have a part or FINIS number? I'm collecting all the numbers but i'm nowhere complete.

 

Perhaps i could buy the loom from you if you want to sell it and it is the right one for me.



I haven't yet bought a loom as I just found out my module is of an earlier type and I have to get some info on the one I need, the part number you need is in a picture on an earlier post though B) ;)



#29 neps

neps

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Name: Espen
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 02 March 2013 - 09:44 PM

Ok, so let me get this straight. There is different looms to different modules also???

 

I thought you could get any of the 8M5T-19C112 modules, and that the looms was the same (except for the part that plugs into the radio wich obviously differs pre/post 2010)



#30 thegame1512

thegame1512

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts
  • Name: B
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 02 March 2013 - 09:47 PM

So the loom FINIS number for post 2010 Fiesta's is 1710952?

 

Neps: As far as I know the loom connectors are the same to the BT module and the mic.  Only the radio differs. As far as the GEM module i'm not sure. Can we use any GEM with this loom. Does every GEM have a socket for this loom? Does anyone have a picture where to plug it in?

 

 

By the way i'm still learning so perhaps iNath will know for sure.



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users