Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Ford Focus Diesel 1.6 (2010) Possible EGR problem?

mcyates

I've been having a few problems with my girlfriends Focus, originally I kept getting the following errors up on my OBD reader.

P042F
P244A
Diesel - Particulate Filter Efficiency Below Threshold Bank 1

The car would go into limp mode, but I'd clear the warnings with my OBD reader and the power would come back. I've been doing that for about 2 months. But now when I clear the warnings, it remains in limp mode.

I travelled from Middlesbrough to Faslane early this morning and I had "Engine Malfunction" warning come up and the car is now limited to 3000 revs. I have also been getting this new error code: 

P0299 - Turbocharger / supercharger Underboost

I have noticed though, once I get the Engine Malfunction warning up and continue to drive, clear the warning, then stop the car (say at roundabouts or traffic lights) with the engine still on, the limp mode stops but then the engine malfunction warning comes up within a minute if I'm on a motorway, but if I'm sticking to 30mph it doesn't come back up until I hit higher speeds (Probably when the revs are above 3,000RPM.

Any suggestions, i'm thinking about taking out the EGR valve to see if its clogged up. Is that a waste of time or good to know? 

Thanks in advance.

18 hours ago, DaveT70 said:

Sounds like the DPF is full

Ah right, just removed the egr valve and it looks clean so bought a used one.cill fit that when it arrives and see what's changed. Probably nothing If it's the DPF. 

How can this be sorted? Would I need a new DPF?

Thanks 👍🏻

14 minutes ago, mcyates said:

How can this be sorted? Would I need a new DPF?

It's been done, not sure how, but you can remove them and clean them out. Have a look on youtube

• Thanks 1