Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Starting problem

BertieB82

Hello Guys and Gals, 

Newbie here, 

I've recently purchased a 2009 Zetec S 1.8, 

I've only had it for 1 month but a issue has popped up, where when starting the engine it fires into life but then the revs drop and it cuts out, 2nd time starting the engine it's fine and then drives fine.. Weird.. 

I've had it back to the garage, they've had it for 1 week of the month I've owned it, 

They have sent dash clocks away as that's a common problem apparently? Thinking it was an immobiliser issue but no change, 

Fitted a new throttle body, new throttle position sensor and new plugs, all have made no difference. 

There are no error codes present

Theyve said run it for a week see if it improves, but clearly isn't going to. 

I go away on holiday in just over a week on a long drive and would hate for it to fail on me. 

Anyone have any thoughts? Sounds more of a fuel issue to me but thought that would have showed on a scanner 🤔

Also another issue, no idea what this is but there is a relay clicking sound coming from the passenger footwell, it clicks roughly every 10 seconds 🙈🤯 this doesn't appear to effect anything its just annoying lol

Sorry for the long post

3 hours ago, BertieB82 said:

more of a fuel issue to me but thought that would have showed on a scanner 🤔

If you are using a generic scanner then it probably won't show up.

Download and use the software FORScan which is as close to the Ford dealer software that you can get.

FORScan (use a laptop, not the WiFi/Bluetooth version): https://forscan.org/download.html

Connecting lead 'vLinker FS' : https://www.obd2shop.co.uk/wholesale/vgate-vlinker-fs-elm327-for-ford.html?gclid=Cj0KCQjwxb2XBhDBARIsAOjDZ35SeNZYWsn1fIOCSi8tMNMfltIIiJY_m2dvnfPv5ZMLy7avsFLtegMaAo5yEALw_wcB

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

On 8/7/2022 at 11:48 AM, unofix said:

If you are using a generic scanner then it probably won't show up.