Jump to content


Photo

Replacement Transponder


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 kingdom

kingdom

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Ford Model: Galaxy 1.9Tdi 130ps
  • Location: Scotland

Posted 02 May 2010 - 11:22 PM

Has anyone ever lost the transponder chip from the key blade - what's the best and cheapest solution?

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...



Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,934 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 05 May 2010 - 12:55 PM

Has anyone ever lost the transponder chip from the key blade - what's the best and cheapest solution?



buying a new key or fob with a blank transponder in it is the best way i assume you only have 1 original key for the car if so youll need an autolocksmith to do it far cheaper than ford and theuy can supply all you need check youre yellow pages for one near you

#3 kingdom

kingdom

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Ford Model: Galaxy 1.9Tdi 130ps
  • Location: Scotland

Posted 06 May 2010 - 07:54 PM

buying a new key or fob with a blank transponder in it is the best way i assume you only have 1 original key for the car if so youll need an autolocksmith to do it far cheaper than ford and theuy can supply all you need check youre yellow pages for one near you


Thanks for your reply. Unfortunately there are no autolocksmiths near me. Do you know where I can get a blank key from? I have one working remote key. The metal blade on the other key isn't damaged so I'm assuming I can get a blank key, take the transponder and fob from that, and put these onto my existing blade. Then I guess I need to get Ford to re-programme both keys.

#4 Gazjs

Gazjs

    Area Rep: Central and North Scotland (Detailing Obsessive)

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,873 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk 6 Facelift
  • Location:

Posted 06 May 2010 - 08:06 PM

Thanks for your reply. Unfortunately there are no autolocksmiths near me. Do you know where I can get a blank key from? I have one working remote key. The metal blade on the other key isn't damaged so I'm assuming I can get a blank key, take the transponder and fob from that, and put these onto my existing blade. Then I guess I need to get Ford to re-programme both keys.

Where about in Scotland are you from?
This has no relevance to the question, just interested :lol:

#5 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,934 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 06 May 2010 - 08:45 PM

Where about in Scotland are you from?
This has no relevance to the question, just interested Posted Image



thees plenty in scotland that will travel look for mobile locksmiths youll find one if you do they are besty to get the stuff ffrom

#6 ponsaloti

ponsaloti

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 124 posts
  • Name: M
  • Ford Model: mondeo
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Essex

Posted 24 May 2010 - 10:48 PM

This is a very common problem with galaxy's.
The key can get stuck in the door so when yor pull, the remote comes off and the chip falls out without you noticing.

Always have a working spare at home. That way you can get the car home and get another spare.
I turn down suppling keys to these if all keys are lost. There's 19 differant systems on these so an auto locksmiths nightmare.
No problem if you have a working key and need a spare.

Be warned.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users