Jump to content


Photo

Mk1 Speedo Issue


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 MikeyShadrake

MikeyShadrake

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Name: mike
  • Ford Model: mk1 ford focus 1.8 ghia
  • Year: 1999
  • Location: Hampshire

Posted 18 January 2012 - 09:01 PM

hi
i have a issue with the speedo where it stops showing the speed and then will come back on say 5 mins later, just wondered if this is a simple fix like a loose connection or is it more involved.
cheers
:)

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...



Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 18,087 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: 2015 Focus ST3 250BHP
  • Year: 2015
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 18 January 2012 - 10:15 PM

New speedo sensor needed mate.
Easy and cheap to get on eBay.
You'll need a new locking pin for it too as you'll mangle the old one removing it.
Search YouTube for guides on how to do it.
Had this problem on my old mk1 and took about 40 minutes to do.
When your speedo drops does the engine run rough too?


#3 mjt

mjt

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 501 posts
  • Name: Mike
  • Ford Model: Focus Mk2.5 Zetec 1.8HE
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Cambridgeshire

Posted 18 January 2012 - 10:24 PM

Check the cable where it runs close to the gear linkage. On mine the sensor and instrument cluster were replaced before it was found the cable was chafed and shorting on the linkage. If the fault goes away after a gearchange this might be the reason.

If you do change the sensor be aware that they can get corroded in and snap off while trying to remove them.

#4 MikeyShadrake

MikeyShadrake

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Name: mike
  • Ford Model: mk1 ford focus 1.8 ghia
  • Year: 1999
  • Location: Hampshire

Posted 19 January 2012 - 10:01 AM

New speedo sensor needed mate.
Easy and cheap to get on eBay.
You'll need a new locking pin for it too as you'll mangle the old one removing it.
Search YouTube for guides on how to do it.
Had this problem on my old mk1 and took about 40 minutes to do.
When your speedo drops does the engine run rough too?


the engine runs fine when its dropped out, the speedo drops out like it loses power
cheers for the reply

#5 MikeyShadrake

MikeyShadrake

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Name: mike
  • Ford Model: mk1 ford focus 1.8 ghia
  • Year: 1999
  • Location: Hampshire

Posted 19 January 2012 - 10:18 AM

Check the cable where it runs close to the gear linkage. On mine the sensor and instrument cluster were replaced before it was found the cable was chafed and shorting on the linkage. If the fault goes away after a gearchange this might be the reason.

If you do change the sensor be aware that they can get corroded in and snap off while trying to remove them.


hi cheers for the reply, i will check this first before purchases

#6 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 18,087 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: 2015 Focus ST3 250BHP
  • Year: 2015
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 19 January 2012 - 10:43 AM

May be worth checking the back of the speedo panel for condensation first then.
Usually a sensor dropping reduces engine response too.
Some MK1's had a problem with moisture getting into the cluster and causing an intermittent short.
Give the back of the unit a dry off and a jab with a small amount of WD40 for a temporary fix.
If that doesn't work or if you want peace of mind then do the speedo sensor - better safe than sorry and on eBay they don't cost the earth.
The cluster would cost more as it would also i believe need setting for correct mileage by a garage or ford. Of course that's if you'd want to do the cluster too.
Still reckon the sensor is the main culprit though.
http://www.ebay.co.u...=item231846bec6

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item3355371e04

Fitting guide from a member of another forum i subscribe to http://fordfocusworld.com/forums/ and just happens to be a neighbour of mine.


Hope this helps you to resolve your problem.

#7 greentom234

greentom234

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Location: Fife

Posted 31 August 2012 - 12:42 PM

Hey guys, Im new to the forum and I have had this problem. Although when removing the sensor it has unfortunately snapped inside the gearbox. Do you guys know of any easy ways of getting it out of the gearbox without the top half without taking apart the gearbox? Any help would be GREATLY appreciated.
Thanks
Tom

#8 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 18,087 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: 2015 Focus ST3 250BHP
  • Year: 2015
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 31 August 2012 - 01:00 PM

I would assume that part of it is still stuck in the hole?
If so then you may be able to gently screw or drill into it and use a draw hammer and plenty of WD40 to bump it out.
If it has snapped off below access range or dropped away inside the housing then i'm afraid the housing will have to come off.
Running the car without the VSS attached will most likely cause serious misrunning as the VSS is a direct ECU connection and also if the sensor head has moved in at all may foul the moving parts inside the box and also allow Transmission oil to leak.

#9 greentom234

greentom234

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Location: Fife

Posted 31 August 2012 - 01:52 PM

Yes the sensor is still stuck in the hole and there is nothing to get purchase onto. Its extremely tight in there and there is no space for leakage. Its not connected to the ECU anymore. I was told it would be ok and would run as bad as it did before.

#10 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 18,087 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: 2015 Focus ST3 250BHP
  • Year: 2015
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 31 August 2012 - 02:28 PM

Yes, it will run very ragged, no odometer readings will be added so your mileage will be inaccurate and will cause sluggish acceleration and likely stalling too.
As I said it's either put in a screw and try a draw hammer or pull the box.

#11 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,927 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 31 August 2012 - 04:06 PM

i leave these jobs to the garage as they are a total pig to get out once they have snapped the car will run like a bag of spanners until its sorted im afraid

#12 astonnick

astonnick

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus Zetec 1.6 TDCi
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Kent

Posted 17 September 2012 - 09:04 PM

Had this on my old MK1. Sold it in the end, but I hear all you need is a new speed sensor. The speedo used to die on mine, often followed by the car stalling.

#13 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 18,087 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: 2015 Focus ST3 250BHP
  • Year: 2015
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 17 September 2012 - 09:06 PM

Those are indeed the symptoms.
You'll usually find that the odometer stops too.


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users