Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Clunking sound

CraigJ123

Hi, hoping someone can help. Last few weeks the car (Ford Focus 2007 5 door hatchback) has been making a wooden clunking sound (like the sound of dropping wood on pavement) under feet in line with the drivers seat and a bit in front of driver side rear wheel. This occurs infrequently when going over little bumps in roads like drains or right hand turns. It's just been in for MOT and nothing mentioned. Also there is squeaking from the engine sometimes when first turned on. Any ideas for the cause? I'm a big novice, but hoping to learn a lot from this site and other sources as quickly as possible. Any help gratefully appreciated.

• Like 1

42 minutes ago, CraigJ123 said:

Hi, hoping someone can help. Last few weeks the car (Ford Focus 2007 5 door hatchback) has been making a wooden clunking sound (like the sound of dropping wood on pavement) under feet in line with the drivers seat and a bit in front of driver side rear wheel. This occurs infrequently when going over little bumps in roads like drains or right hand turns. It's just been in for MOT and nothing mentioned. Also there is squeaking from the engine sometimes when first turned on. Any ideas for the cause? I'm a big novice, but hoping to learn a lot from this site and other sources as quickly as possible. Any help gratefully appreciated.

Hi Craig. You're in the right place; I started on this forum two years ago with no knowledge of cars at all.  In that time with the help of the guys on here, have changed a Timing belt, calipers, EGR valves, brakes, serviced our cars!  Great people, great forum!  

Have you listened to the squeaking with the engine running and bonnet open?  Can you pinpoint it or video it and post it?  Could just be as simple as the drive belt.  What engine is it?

As for the clunking, I would guess something to do with suspension, but have little to zero experience on that subject so someone else will have to chip in on that.