Jump to content


Photo

Cutting out when driving


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Tony1973

Tony1973

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus Estate 1.8 TDdi Year 2000
  • Location:

Posted 26 November 2009 - 12:49 PM

My focus 1.8tdDi zetec estate cuts out while driving, i have had this problem for over six months but as the car is a second car in the household i have sort of tolerated the issue, i have changed the fuel filter and the speed sensor but i still have the same problem cutting out usually 2nd gear or above, thanks for any feedback!

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

#2 SierraYankee99

SierraYankee99

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 859 posts
  • Ford Model: Ford
  • Location:

Posted 26 November 2009 - 10:50 PM

My focus 1.8tdDi zetec estate cuts out while driving, i have had this problem for over six months but as the car is a second car in the household i have sort of tolerated the issue, i have changed the fuel filter and the speed sensor but i still have the same problem cutting out usually 2nd gear or above, thanks for any feedback!


Does it cut out or do you just lose drive ie engines still running but accelerators dead??? If its what I think it is the glowplug light will steadily flash too but when you turn the car off and restart all is fine. Right so far???? If I am, simples. Throttle position sensor in the accelerator pedal. Cure??Buy a new pedal from Ford for about 80 and fit it yourself. Job sorted.

#3 Tony1973

Tony1973

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus Estate 1.8 TDdi Year 2000
  • Location:

Posted 27 November 2009 - 08:05 AM

Does it cut out or do you just lose drive ie engines still running but accelerators dead??? If its what I think it is the glowplug light will steadily flash too but when you turn the car off and restart all is fine. Right so far???? If I am, simples. Throttle position sensor in the accelerator pedal. Cure??Buy a new pedal from Ford for about 80 and fit it yourself. Job sorted.


Yeah does exactly what you said aswell! thanks !

#4 SierraYankee99

SierraYankee99

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 859 posts
  • Ford Model: Ford
  • Location:

Posted 30 November 2009 - 06:38 AM

LOL no problem. Mine did it a couple of years ago. Thing was I was sat at 65mph on the A1 when it did it in heavy traffic. Proper brown trouser moment for me I can tell you lol.


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users