Jump to content


Photo

Got An Error On Your Car?

OBDII scanner error codes help computer

  • Please log in to reply
80 replies to this topic

#61 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,739 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 07 May 2014 - 04:23 PM

Updated to include a recommended piece of laptop software



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#62 cjfrench89

cjfrench89

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Name: Chris
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Hertfordshire

Posted 15 May 2014 - 08:29 PM

Hi!

 

I have trawled the internet for an answer to my query to no avail, so on seeing that this thread was still active I thought I would post!

 

My 55 reg Fiesta Style 3 door (non-face-lift) has its engine light on, of course just as I am coming up to look to sell.

 

My Uncle had an OBD2 bluetooth scanner which he has used on a different car with great success so I tried this on my Fiesta - on plugging it in, all that came on was a red LED (as opposed to the green one which was the case on the other car) and the scanner was undiscoverable via bluetooth. My uncle went away and put some power through the scanner and it came on and worked fine. I later purchased a different brand of scanner and, of course, the same thing happens - all that comes on is the red LED above the "PC" label. I have also tired this scanner on another facelift Fiesta which I think is 57 reg with absolutely no success i.e. the same red LED shows up and the device is not discoverable.

 

Before I fork out either another £15 on an F Super which apparently should work, or take my car down to the local Gates and have them tell me what the problem is for £105(!!!), can anyone tell me why no scanners seem to work with my car?! This is incredibly frustrating as I am sure you can imagine!

 

Thanks

 

Chris



#63 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,739 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 15 May 2014 - 09:47 PM

Hi Chris,

 

this is a new one on me! so you have tried the same working adapter on two seperate Fiesta's and they dont work at all? Basically the red light is little more than power, and showing that the car is connected to the bluetooth adapter. The Green light will only come on after you have opened the device via Torque or a similar application.

 

I know that when I first got my mondeo, it seemed impossible to get the devices to work, however, after I left it plugged in for a while, and Torque open on screen (just left it to try and connect) after about 10 - 15 minutes, it just came to life.

 

It might be something similar, Torque will probably be trying to connect not only to the bluetooth, but working out the parameters to communicate with the ECU.



#64 cjfrench89

cjfrench89

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Name: Chris
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Hertfordshire

Posted 15 May 2014 - 10:10 PM

Frustrating that it doesn't even appear on bluetooth when searched on a number of devices. Tomorrow evening I will leave it running/searching for a while and have another go, maybe it just needs a bit of encouragement! Will feed back to see if I get it working.

 

Thanks so far!



#65 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,739 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 16 May 2014 - 10:50 AM

No Worries,

 

You might have a faulty adapter. As soon as its connected and the red light comes on the bluetooth module should become visible to all to see. You then pair up with 0000 or 1234 and it goes from there.

 

If your phone isnt even picking up the bluetooth broadcast, it would suggest its not powering up the bluetooth correctly, or its defective in that the power supply its getting from the port is not sufficient to power it correctly.



#66 Mad-Dog

Mad-Dog

    Member

  • FOC Supporters
  • 26 posts
  • Name: Steve
  • Ford Model: Kuga Titanium X 2.0 163 PS TDCI AWD
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Nottinghamshire

Posted 04 September 2014 - 08:14 PM

Hello,
generic means it will work on most cars.

I can recommend the V Gate VS550 it reads and clears codes, reads live engine data, no laptop need as it has a LCD screen built in,
I have tried it on a Ford Kuga, Bmw 1 Services, Audi A4 and a Jag S Type, works great on all and probably more cars. It only has 4 buttons Up, Down, Yes, No so you can't go wrong.
Regards
Steve

#67 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,739 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 05 September 2014 - 12:25 PM

Looks a good piece of software, although I would say that it looks a bit expensive (cheapest from UK on ebay is around £80). It can be found here for around €40 http://www.carsets.c...CFRSEfgodo4cAMA

 

Does sound like a good bit of kit though!



#68 Mad-Dog

Mad-Dog

    Member

  • FOC Supporters
  • 26 posts
  • Name: Steve
  • Ford Model: Kuga Titanium X 2.0 163 PS TDCI AWD
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Nottinghamshire

Posted 05 September 2014 - 08:45 PM

Yes it is a great bit of kit, i didnt pay that I only paid £25 for it as Amazon had a offer on it, I think its £30 something now :)

#69 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,739 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 05 September 2014 - 08:53 PM

Pretty good going maybe I saw the mk2 variant

#70 Marks12

Marks12

    Feet Under The Table

  • FOC Supporters
  • 413 posts
  • Name: Mark
  • Ford Model: Focus Zetec 1.8 TDCI
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Meath

Posted 13 September 2014 - 06:44 AM

OK what's this focus dash trick u mentioned I'm intreged by that

#71 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,739 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 14 September 2014 - 09:25 PM

Depending on the focus you have and the trip computer, you either have a reset button on the stalk or an ok button on the wheel. Whichever you have, turn the engine off, press and hold this button then whilst holding the button Turn the engine on and keep hold. When you see it hit test mode, let go, then press the appropriate button repeatedly to scroll through till you get to dtcs. Then you can use these codes to help. But the problem is the error codes are basic and need translating. So if you ever have a choice use the trio as a short term get me by but always get a proper code reader ad it makes life easier. Most translate the number to words on screen immediately

#72 theredfox

theredfox

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Name: paul
  • Ford Model: c- max
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Sligo

Posted 14 September 2014 - 09:38 PM

Hello,
generic means it will work on most cars.

I can recommend the V Gate VS550 it reads and clears codes, reads live engine data, no laptop need as it has a LCD screen built in,
I have tried it on a Ford Kuga, Bmw 1 Services, Audi A4 and a Jag S Type, works great on all and probably more cars. It only has 4 buttons Up, Down, Yes, No so you can't go wrong.
Regards
Steve

got vgate vs450 is this compatable for 05 c-max

paul



#73 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,739 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 14 September 2014 - 09:39 PM

Yeah cmax is obd2 compliant so should be fine

#74 theredfox

theredfox

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Name: paul
  • Ford Model: c- max
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Sligo

Posted 14 September 2014 - 10:52 PM

thanks wont need to buy code reader for c-max

paul



#75 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,739 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 18 September 2014 - 08:55 PM

have you already got one?



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have




Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: OBDII, scanner, error, codes, help, computer

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users