Jump to content


Show
Photo

Can I Disable The Lights Coming On When Unlocking?


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Rich2508

Rich2508

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Name: Richard
  • Ford Model: C Max Titanium 2011 1.6 125ps
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Derbyshire

Posted 13 October 2013 - 07:39 PM

Hi, I have just picked up a 2011 C Max Titanium, and really pleased with it - replaced an S Max that we had for 5 yrs. However, just one thing irritates me - its when you unlock the car the front &rear lights come on until you have got in and close the door. A real waste of time in my opinion, but on all other cars we have had with this feature, you can switch it off.

I have searched the manual and tried settings on the computer, but can't see how. Can anyone help?

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 jamesm182

jamesm182

    Management

  • Admin
  • 1,360 posts
  • Name: James
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Dorset
Contributor

Posted 14 October 2013 - 09:18 AM

I'm not 100% sure but I doubt there will be a setting on the car itself. I would imagine it would be possible to deactivate this at a dealer etc by having it plugged into Ford IDS. Can someone else confirm this?

 

Welcome to the club by the way :)  



#3 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 14,831 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 14 October 2013 - 12:51 PM

If you read the thread about using an ELM327 interface you may well find it useful.

http://www.fordowner...nd-ff2-program/

#4 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 16,208 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 14 October 2013 - 02:37 PM

yes you can use the modified ELM cable to disable the walk me home lights, I dont know of any way to do this with button presses though.



#5 Rich2508

Rich2508

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Name: Richard
  • Ford Model: C Max Titanium 2011 1.6 125ps
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Derbyshire

Posted 14 October 2013 - 07:29 PM

Thanks for info so far guys, the plug in module looks a little dangerous to me -would be afraid of wiping something out. At least it can be done though (plus the rear wiper coming on when you select reverse which is also a bit of a pain and was so on my SMax).
Think I may wait for the dealer to sort when I need a service.

#6 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 16,208 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 15 October 2013 - 12:24 PM

Dealer will charge you a fortune, but on a serious note, if you backup before you change, you always can revert it back to a usable state. I wouldn't discount it altogether, it really is a simple interface and if all else fails, if you can have wifi close by, someone may even (if the timing is right) dial onto your computer and remote control and help you out. I have no objections to this, as long as things arent crazy busy if you ever wanted to do it!



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users