Jump to content


Photo

Central Locking


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 goldstar0011

goldstar0011

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Ford Model: KA
  • Location:

Posted 26 August 2009 - 10:02 PM

Greetings

The Mrs has a KA that am trying to "upgrade" with remote locking.

Have a universal remote kit fitted and mostly working but it's hard to get it right and tend to find one door not working by not locking or unlocking.

Anyway, if I can't get this fixed am thinking to get the original parts.
Have been offered this for 50 delivered :

Central locking units for both doors
2 door wiring looms
Central locking unit for tailgate.
Wiring loom for tailgate
Main wiring loom.

Now I know it won't be remote yet but is this all I need to get key activated central locking working?

Am being advised that all I need later is the remote ECU and matching main ECU along with remote, this right?

Am hoping you guys wil be more help than some sites.
Cheers

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...



Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 delboy

delboy

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 536 posts
  • Name: martin
  • Ford Model: c-max ghia 1.8 petrol /ka 1.2 mk2
  • Year: 2004
  • Location: Somerset

Posted 27 August 2009 - 04:18 PM

if you have to change the ecu then you may be better off getting another car
as they are expensive items .
someone will be able to give you more details i hope

#3 goldstar0011

goldstar0011

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Ford Model: KA
  • Location:

Posted 27 August 2009 - 07:43 PM

if you have to change the ecu then you may be better off getting another car
as they are expensive items .
someone will be able to give you more details i hope


I can get the parts easy and cheap enough exchanging current ECU, wouldn't bother otherwise, it's what I need to do that's the concern

#4 delboy

delboy

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 536 posts
  • Name: martin
  • Ford Model: c-max ghia 1.8 petrol /ka 1.2 mk2
  • Year: 2004
  • Location: Somerset

Posted 28 August 2009 - 01:09 PM

i think it approx 2 hours work for fords so approx 150 thereabouts then i think they charge you to have it all remapped.

i would contact them & get a price or better still go into the fords place & get a printed quote
or your local garage if they can take on the work that is.


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users