Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Installed New Stereo, Car Won't Start

wwarby

Hi all,

I've just installed a new car stereo this afternoon (Pioneer AppRadio 4 - SPH-DA120) and now my car won't start. There is still power to the stereo and headlights but when I turn the ignition all I hear is a fast-paced clicking noise. I disconnected the stereo and the noise is the same. I presume this means the battery has been drained, although I'm not quite sure how because although I played with the stereo for a couple of hours, I doubt that would be enough on it's own to drain the battery and it very much appeared to be switching itself off when I turned off the ignition.

Any thoughts on what I've done wrong? (I'm a bit of a novice in car wiring so speak slowly please!)

• Like 1

Sounds like battery to me - when I was installing my new head unit the car was slow to turn over after I'd been messing with it, and eventually I had to put the battery on charge for an hour or so as it dropped too low while I still faffed about.

• Like 1

Couple of hours with engine off? To prevent battery drain ford put a 1hour limit on it so youve probably drained the battery remember its not just the stereo youre powering the ecu pcm various dials etc

• Like 1

Sounds as though I misjudged the limits of the battery then - one embarrassing call to the RAC coming up tomorrow morning!

Thinking about it, I was probably fiddling around with it for quite a bit longer than 2 hours actually, so I guess it makes sense - but I'm curious now - many of these large screen stereos come with DVD players which you're legally forbidden from using whilst the car is in motion, so what's the point if you can't actually watch a DVD on them without draining the battery? It amazes me how little you can get out of a battery that size - the battery on an iPad is about 2% of the size and can power screen for a whole day. I know the car battery is doing more than that, but still...

• Like 1