Jump to content


Photo

Satnavs & Heated Screens


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 wlshyd

wlshyd

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts
  • Ford Model: None yet!
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 14 April 2010 - 08:18 PM

Does anyone have any issues using an aftermarket satnav with a heated screen?

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...



Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 thesilverfox

thesilverfox

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 725 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus

Posted 14 April 2010 - 08:31 PM

Does anyone have any issues using an aftermarket satnav with a heated screen?


Seems to work fine with my iPhone (I have built-in satnav with the car, but use the iPhone for safety camera databases). Never had an issue with the GF's Tom-Tom unit either.

#3 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,939 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 14 April 2010 - 08:31 PM

Does anyone have any issues using an aftermarket satnav with a heated screen?



dont stick them to the screen if thats what yiou meaan fit them to the dash it doesnt take much to break an element

#4 wlshyd

wlshyd

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts
  • Ford Model: None yet!
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 14 April 2010 - 09:06 PM

Sorry no just meant if they still receive sufficient signal for them to operate...

Many reviews seem to say yes, but i've had cars in the past with heat-reflective screens (different, i know) and these literally stopped ALL gps signals, rendering my shiny new tomtom redundant!

I just hope the Ford's heated screens wouldnt do the same as i need my satnav a lot, not to mention its saved my licence a few times...

#5 thesilverfox

thesilverfox

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 725 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus

Posted 15 April 2010 - 12:02 AM

Sorry no just meant if they still receive sufficient signal for them to operate...

Many reviews seem to say yes, but i've had cars in the past with heat-reflective screens (different, i know) and these literally stopped ALL gps signals, rendering my shiny new tomtom redundant!

I just hope the Ford's heated screens wouldnt do the same as i need my satnav a lot, not to mention its saved my licence a few times...


I knew what you meant :) Nope, no issues at all, but then I don't mount on the windscreen - I detest windscreen mounts of all kinds!

#6 calmcdermott

calmcdermott

    Area Rep: Northeast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 579 posts
  • Name: Callum
  • Ford Model: Ford Fiesta ST500
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 15 April 2010 - 12:20 AM

My tomtom works fine with me!

#7 dogsbody

dogsbody

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus LX TDCi
  • Location:

Posted 15 April 2010 - 08:31 AM

My tomtom works fine with me!

I use Tomtom with no prblems mounted on heated f screen :)

#8 hawker

hawker

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 217 posts
  • Ford Model: 2006 Focus 1.6 TDCi
  • Location: Cardiff

Posted 15 April 2010 - 09:16 AM

dont stick them to the screen if thats what yiou meaan fit them to the dash it doesnt take much to break an element


The heated front differs from the heated rear screen. The elements are not on the surface but are actually contained within the glass itself so, so fitting it to the front screen shouldn't be an issue in this respect.

I've not had any issues with reception.

#9 mintalkin

mintalkin

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,551 posts
  • Name: mintalkin
  • Ford Model: mondeo tdci 130
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Staffordshire

Posted 15 April 2010 - 03:18 PM

i have no problems with tom tom or road angel.

#10 cyb

cyb

    Too much time on the boards

  • FOC Supporters
  • 548 posts
  • Name: Colin
  • Ford Model: fiesta 1.4tdci
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Lincolnshire

Posted 15 April 2010 - 03:59 PM

same here :D my Tom Tom works just a good in my Fiesta with heated screen as in my old car that didn't have the heated screen :)

#11 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,939 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 15 April 2010 - 07:21 PM

The heated front differs from the heated rear screen. The elements are not on the surface but are actually contained within the glass itself so, so fitting it to the front screen shouldn't be an issue in this respect.

I've not had any issues with reception.



thre you go then i havent had one with the heated screen my old man has and found them to be a pain in the royal one tiny chip in winter and crack i was under the assumption it was a similar set up to the rear and the elements were outside the glass not contained within other than that the only reason i wouldnt put on the screen is thiefs look for the tell tale ring when its removed left by the suckers knowing its likely in the car somewhere usually glovebox or under a seat quite common for being stolen

#12 jay1981

jay1981

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 170 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Focus Zetec 1.8 TDCI
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Devon

Posted 15 April 2010 - 07:32 PM

TomTom works fine in my car, as far as I know it is the solar reflecting windscreens that block GPS signals. TomTom do sell an external GPS antenna to get round this.

#13 ford focus edge

ford focus edge

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 775 posts
  • Name: Mike
  • Ford Model: Focus 2.5T ST-2
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 15 April 2010 - 08:00 PM

My mates crappy "mapster" or something worked fine with my quickclear full signal all the way if you have solar reflect on the other hand then your in a different ballpark as the others have said.

Mike

#14 starfield

starfield

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 171 posts
  • Ford Model: 1.8 zetec, Mark II, petrol (manu 56 reg)

Posted 16 April 2010 - 09:05 PM

my garmin works fine

#15 alz

alz

    Serial Poster

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 460 posts
  • Name: Alan
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus LX 1.8 TDCI
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Worcestershire

Posted 19 April 2010 - 07:52 PM

I use a tomtom in my ford focus, I have it mounted by the side of the radio, and I have had no problems with it.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users