Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Ford Focus wet timing belt danger

DAVID R GRAHAM

Good morning to all members. I am a newbie.

I have signed up to this site, because I feel a strong need to highlight the very real danger of the wet timing belt installed by Ford in the Focus.

Two days ago, that issue could well have caused a fatal accident, whilst I was driving at 70 mph on the A64 to Whitby.

Fortunately, I had just turned into the truck stop at the Highwayman Cafe, when the foot brake seized up. Had that happened minutes before, I shudder to think what the outcome might have been.

The car was then too dangerous to even contemplate driving. I was towed home by the AA. It was then that I learned, from the driver, about the very real danger of wet timing belts.

Later that day I learned from a local garage that Ford had been replacing such damaged engines free of charge. 

My car is now with Perry's Ford dealership in Worksop, where it was purchased.  It will remain there until it is deemed safe to drive on the road again. If Ford does not replace the engine, free of charge, with one that uses a chain rather than a wet belt. I will not be taking the car back. 

My very real concern, since my hair-raising experience, is that there are Focus drivers on the roads who are unaware of the potential danger of the wet belt powering their vehicles. 

Kind regards to all members,

David. 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1
  • Sad 1

This comes up everyday unfortunately. The regular members here are well aware. 

Ford cannot replace a wet belt engine with a chain engine, it had more done to it than just the timing chain. The whole head is reversed. 

Plus the timing chain engine still has a wet belt for the oil pump. We’re no longer convinced the timing chain version will be much more reliable. 

• Like 5
  • Thanks 1

1 hour ago, DAVID R GRAHAM said: