Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Matrix heater leak - What to do?

forestureds

Hi peeps erm so I am total novice with cars and my garage have diagnosed a leaking matrix heater. (Repair cost at £934)

I have heat from the heater and there is no leak inside the passengers footwell the cars valuation is about 2200 its done 110000 miles.

How dangerous is this problem as warmer weather here in the uk is around the corner and can live without using the heater except maybe demisting the windows.

I tried k-seal a week ago but still i have coolant dropping down all tho very minimal im just wondering if its something I can live with if i do not use the heating in the car? I presume this will also mean not using the heater keep the car cooler inside in summer?

Is it correct that if the heater is not used then the coolant will not drop and the car will be fine?

My garage said the car is still ok to use on short journeys and that I could still use the heater alltho the car is booked in with them a month later for a full repair.

Any thoughts on what to do? 

Sorry if i sound noobish but i am 😞

Regards

Rick

p.s the pics are of the day after i used k seal and emptied the coolant using a turkey baster lol and then refilled with new coolant, the second pic is a week a later but was using the heater in the car for the following week after using the k seal.

pics_of_day_after_k_seal_and_1_week_later.png

Edited by forestureds
more info

I think you know the answer.

Rad weld actually inside the heater matrix (not the system) is your best bet.

Remove the top heater hose (when cold) and pour a bottle of rad weld directly into the matrix, reconnect the hose and run car.

Keep a good size bottle of ready mixed coolant in the boot, keep an eye on the level every day and just drive it

• Thanks 1

Thanks for reply dave, is this easily done e.g I can just open the bonnet and find the hose? easy to disconnect and connect again? will radweld 100% seal the leak?