Jump to content


Show
Photo

New Here, Need Some Input On Retrofittings


  • Please log in to reply
166 replies to this topic

#121 neps

neps

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Name: Espen
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 22 March 2013 - 07:18 PM

Got the new harness today, partnumber: 1580659

This is the correct one for 2009 models with 2 connectors for the radiounit.

The harness goes in between one of the old connectors to the radiounit and the BT module. It also provides two new connectors that goes to the headunit.

1 BT module
2 USB and AUX inputs
3 radioconnector input, use the current connector to radio.
4 Two new connectors that goes to the headunit. The grey/white one replaces the current grey/white one.
5 microphone

1580659.jpg
I installed this harness today, this has now broken my AUX input.

I noticed that the wire from aux-in now goes to two pins on the BTmodule connector, and in the aux connector on the headunit also goes to two other pins on the BT unit. I think this means that the BT/USB does use the same wires to the headunit to both BT/USB and AUX. However now none og the above works. I guess its just because I need to get it coded.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#122 thegame1512

thegame1512

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts
  • Name: B
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 23 March 2013 - 10:24 AM

Great! So you have the radio, you plug in the BT connector and in the BT connector you plug the old connector? This is how I interpret it. You dont leave any wires loose right?

#123 neps

neps

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Name: Espen
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 23 March 2013 - 10:49 AM

Correct.
The only cable im leaving loose is the old AUX cable. From aux input to radio. The new harness also has new aux input.
I could remove it completely, but its fastened with zip-ties all over the place.

#124 thegame1512

thegame1512

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts
  • Name: B
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 23 March 2013 - 06:06 PM

Did you fit the temp sensor as well?

#125 neps

neps

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Name: Espen
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 23 March 2013 - 06:16 PM

Have not found one yet, the dealer want allmost £100..

So Im looking for one at the scrapyard

#126 thegame1512

thegame1512

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts
  • Name: B
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 23 March 2013 - 06:23 PM

I paid €74 for it at my dealer. They are hard to find because every car with front damage has also damaged the sensor

#127 AJ_sXe

AJ_sXe

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 580 posts
  • Name: AJ
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.0L EcoBoost Titanium
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 23 March 2013 - 07:40 PM

Got the new harness today, partnumber: 1580659

This is the correct one for 2009 models with 2 connectors for the radiounit.

The harness goes in between one of the old connectors to the radiounit and the BT module. It also provides two new connectors that goes to the headunit.

1 BT module
2 USB and AUX inputs
3 radioconnector input, use the current connector to radio.
4 Two new connectors that goes to the headunit. The grey/white one replaces the current grey/white one.
5 microphone

attachicon.gif1580659.jpg
I installed this harness today, this has now broken my AUX input.

I noticed that the wire from aux-in now goes to two pins on the BTmodule connector, and in the aux connector on the headunit also goes to two other pins on the BT unit. I think this means that the BT/USB does use the same wires to the headunit to both BT/USB and AUX. However now none og the above works. I guess its just because I need to get it coded.



If I'm understanding this correctly, then can I use this harness to bridge between my 2009 stereo and the 2010+ loom I have?

I would also need the 2009 AM module USB cable though.



#128 neps

neps

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Name: Espen
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 23 March 2013 - 07:52 PM

What loom do you want to bridge? The one i got yesterday will not fit a 2010 radio. It will not fit to a 2010 cars loom. But it will fit any year btmodule. The 2009 harness does not come with the mini-USB cable, it has the large Ford style usb

2010 = 1 big connector for radio
2009 = 2 connectors for radio.

#129 AJ_sXe

AJ_sXe

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 580 posts
  • Name: AJ
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.0L EcoBoost Titanium
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 23 March 2013 - 08:54 PM

What loom do you want to bridge? The one i got yesterday will not fit a 2010 radio. It will not fit to a 2010 cars loom. But it will fit any year btmodule. The 2009 harness does not come with the mini-USB cable, it has the large Ford style usb

2010 = 1 big connector for radio
2009 = 2 connectors for radio.

I have a 2010 loom that has the grey connector but won't fit my 2009 stereo, I need the large style USB connector for my 2009 non mini-USB BT module.

So it appears this harness will solve both my issues by bridging between my loom and my stereo and having the USB connector I need rather than the MIni-USB one :D



#130 neps

neps

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Name: Espen
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 23 March 2013 - 09:00 PM

Yep, this harness will be the right one for you. Partnumber: 1580659.

The price I payed was 115£

#131 AJ_sXe

AJ_sXe

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 580 posts
  • Name: AJ
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.0L EcoBoost Titanium
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 23 March 2013 - 09:39 PM

Yep, this harness will be the right one for you. Partnumber: 1580659.

The price I payed was 115£



Did you get it through a dealer or 3rd party parts supplier?



#132 neps

neps

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Name: Espen
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 23 March 2013 - 09:49 PM

I bought it from the official Ford dealer.

#133 neps

neps

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Name: Espen
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 27 March 2013 - 04:17 PM

Got the car recoded today, and it all works!
So it doesnt matter wich BT module you got, they all work as long as the harness is for the right build year.

The trip computer does not work. But after the recoding and new asbuilt file, at least the trip button on the stalk is working, it now resets the trip counter. But it would be great to have the other functions working aswell.

#134 thegame1512

thegame1512

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts
  • Name: B
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 27 March 2013 - 05:26 PM

It did that for me before the recoding. Which IDS version did you use?

#135 neps

neps

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Name: Espen
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 27 March 2013 - 06:01 PM

I dont know. The dealer did it. Does the IDS version matter?

Dealer thought it could be because im missing the temp sensor(??)

Maybe I didnt try holding the trip stalk before I got it coded.

Anyway, I printed a small note with my instructions to the dealer when I left the car there. Telling them wich asbuilt file to use, and where to find it on my USB stick. I also wrote that I didnt have the microphone nor the temp sensor, and that they should ignore any fault codes or such related.

When i picked up the car they told me that they had spent half the day to troubleshoot the microphone. I asked if they had not read my note. I got no answer as the mech that did the job was not available.

So, are we sure that the trip functions should work regardless of the tempsensor? Should I take it back next week and demand that they upload my new asbuilt file again?

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users